# **FAIR TRADING COMMISSION**

### **BARBADOS**

## FTCUR/STYORD2018-01

### FAIR TRADING COMMISSION

**IN THE MATTER** of the Fair Trading Commission Act, CAP. 326B of the Laws of Barbados;

**AND IN THE MATTER** of the Utilities Regulation Act, CAP. 282 of the Laws of Barbados;

AND IN THE MATTER of the Utilities Regulation (Procedural) Rules, 2003 and the Utilities Regulation (Procedural) (Amendment) Rules, 2009;

**AND IN THE MATTER** of the Decision of the Fair Trading Commission dated the 13<sup>th</sup> of April, 2018 on the Barbados Light & Power Company Limited's Application to Recover the Costs of the 5MW Energy Storage Device through the Fuel Clause Adjustment.

### **BEFORE:**

Mrs. Tammy Bryan Ms. Jennivieve Maynard Mr. Brian Francis Ms. Ruan Martinez Chairman
Commissioner
Commissioner
Commissioner

### **ORDER**

**UPON READING** the Motion for Review filed by the Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (Applicant);

**AND UPON READING** the Affidavit of Mr. Rohan Seale, in support of the Motion.

### IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:-

- 1. The Stay of item (iii) of the April 13, 2018 Decision as it relates to heat rate targets is granted effective 1<sup>st</sup> September 2018 on the basis that the Commission is reasonably satisfied that the Applicant may suffer some financial detriment if the heat rate targets are implemented before the hearing of this Motion. The Stay on this basis is of no detriment to customers of the Applicant.
- 2. The Commission will commence the review of its April 13, 2018 Decision on the Barbados Light & Power Company Limited's Application to recover the costs of the 5MW Energy Storage Device (ESD) through the Fuel Clause Adjustment.
- 3. The Applicant can accrue the costs of the ESD from September 1, 2018 and recover such costs from the customer from February 2019.
- 4. The Applicant confirm in writing by Monday, September 3, 2018 that the ESD has been fully implemented.

Dated this 10<sup>th</sup> day of September 2018.

Original signed by	Original signed by
Mrs. Tammy Bryan	Ms. Jennivieve Maynard
Chairman	Commissioner
Original signed by	Original signed by
Mr. Brian Francis	Ms. Ruan Martinez
Commissioner	Commissioner